Thursday, April 28, 2011

A Harmonium of 22 Shruti

Indian music is composed using Shadaja, 4 types of Rishabh, Gandhar, Madhyam, Pancham, 4 Dhaivat and 4 Nishads making a total of 22 Shruti. A novel idea of a Harmonium with these 22 Shruti is the brainchild of Dr. Vidyadhar Oak. Videos depicting this concept and for a more explanation, visit the site.

Courtesy: Vivek Mehetre, Web Jagat, Loksatta dated 27/04/2011


  1. 22 sruti harmonium was created long ago, not by Dr Oak.

  2. Dr. Oke holds a legal patent for the 22 Shruti Harmonium, which wouldn't be the case if it was created long ago!


Have a Say?..Note it down below.

Active users of the LIRC - December 2017

ACTIVE USERS OF THE LIRC ( December 1 to 31 , 2017) All the below Active Users are eligible for one extra library card for th...